Landscape Designer


FNGLA Certified Landscape Designer

What is FCLD?

FNGLA's Certified Landscape Designer (FCLD) program offers a professional designation for practicing Landscape Designers. FNGLA Certified Landscape Designer (FCLD) is the highest level of certification available to Florida's landscape design professionals.

  • Targets professional landscape designers.
  • Two years of prior professional landscape design experience required.
  • Must have completed FNGLA Certified Horticulture Professional (FCHP) certification prior.
  • Following completion of the FCLD written exams, applicants must submit a completed landscape plan with photos and letters of reference to complete the exam process.
  • Although recommended, no prior training is required.
  • Valid for a three-year period. Requires 30 Continuing Education Units (CEUs) to maintain this certification.


"Residential Landscape Architecture" 5th or 6th Edition by Booth & Hiss. This textbook is available from a variety of sources. It provides guidance on design principle, design application, site design and sustainable landscape design. 

FCLD Textbook


Learn More

FCLD Plan Submittal Guidelines

FCLD exam-study guide_Page_1

Learn More


Onsite FCLD testing is offered statewide at various times throughout the year, or by appointment at the FNLGLA office, located in Orlando, Florida. See upcoming testing dates here. To apply to take the exam, fill out an online registration form.

Upon successfully completion of the FCHP and FCLD written exams, applicants will then move on to the final element of the FCLD exam process: a plan submittal, which will be reviewed by the FNGLA Certified Landscape Design Judging Committee. See those guidelines here.

About the FCLD Exam

Candidates must pass a comprehensive four-part written exam to demonstrate knowledge on landscape design principles.

Each section must be passed with a minimum 70% in order to move on to the plan submittal portion. Exam sections include:

  • Plant Identification and Selection
  • Design Principles
  • Site Design
  • Landscape Law and Sustainable Practices

Exam Fees

  • $200 for FNGLA members and $300 for nonmembers.

For complete information on FNGLA's certification exam fees, see
Exam Structures & Fees